About the Site
In February 1957, Historic Charleston Foundation launched an ambitious effort to rehabilitate not just a single building, but an entire neighborhood–Ansonborough. This extraordinary preservation project was the first time a revolving fund had been used for area rehabilitation in the United States, and it became a national showcase.
Over a period of about 15 years, more than 135 colonial and antebellum homes, four churches, and the City’s first public high school were preserved, rehabilitated, and adapted for contemporary use.
In 1964, the City decided to build a municipal auditorium on the southern side of Calhoun Street. Plans for the auditorium called for the extension of George Street from Anson Street to East Bay Street. At the time, George Street dead-ended at what was then 86 Anson Street. (see photo)
To make way for the extension of George Street, that tall brick residence – originally built in 1799 – was moved half a block south and renumbered 82 Anson Street.
Today, that beautiful home defines the southern edge of Theodora Park. And its handsome garden runs along the northeast corner of Anson Street and Laurens Street, the former site of a small food market. (see photos)
This section of George Street that didn’t even exist 50 years ago has now become part of one of Charleston’s most significant corridors, which includes the College of Charleston, Spoleto Festival USA, Gaillard Center, and – now – Theodora Park.